top of page



Come Malaysia Day 2021, Bangi-based troubadour Azmyl Yunor shall launch the music video for the song ‘Orang Kita’ - the latest single from his latest album John Bangi Blues - on his YouTube channel (

Released amidst the backdrop of persisting identity politics in Malaysia, it also marks the 1st anniversary of the album’s digital launch on his Bandcamp page, 10 days earlier the CD format launch last year.

“As an ethnic Malay, you’ll probably be familiar with the phrase ‘orang kita’ being bandied around, obviously referring to fellow Malays within conversations between Malays. For sure different ethnic groups have their own phrases to describe themselves also but I thought ‘orang kita’ is an interesting phrase to repurpose and make it more inclusive since ‘kita’ means ‘us’. Identity is always fluid but it is also a powerful currency wielded by those in power for their own benefits to sway the masses.”

“The song is a symbolic resistance to this – if you strip away all the layers of race, gender, and religion – institutions that construct differences – we’re all just human – hence the ‘AKU MANUSIA!’ refrain. We are all the same species. Never forget that,” he added.

“Let’s celebrate being Malaysian with a capital M! I’m just sick and tired of the racist rhetoric that still persists in this country. The real Malaysia is enshrined in the Constitution, not the words and slander of politicians.”

Directed by aspiring writer and director Alina Wong, the music video was shot at different stages early August last year. “I was inspired by the odd state of arts in Malaysia, where art is encouraged, but the artists themselves are held back by written or unspoken rules. I just love the idea of contradiction, chaos and everything that doesn’t make sense, so the story just spiralled from that basis,” she explained.

“I guess this is dedicated to all artists and art lovers out there, and well, to those who love to control it too. The song, to me, is about questioning who Malaysia actually belongs to - does it really belong to all of us who live here? It explores a chaotic rage and frustration as the song tries to answer this,” she added.

The 10-song album was recorded live in the studio in three hours in November 2019 with Ammar Khairi (The Maharajah Commission) on drums and Kristopher Chong (Salammusik) on bass and produced by Ariff Akhir – a creative collaboration that began with 2010’s Warga album. Bucking the trend, the album is still not available on Spotify or any of the usual digital streaming services.

It is exclusively available digitally on his Bandcamp page (URL: and his YouTube page. All his recent music videos have included English subtitles so that foreign audiences may also understand the lyrics and contexts of the songs. Related music videos URLs: ‘Penghasut Blues’ -

Azmyl Yunor’s social media links: Instagram:



Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Spotify
  • ApplePodcast
  • amazon music slt
  • google podcast logo
  • Youtube
bottom of page